Swimming Australia selects Dolphins for World Para Swimming Championships

12 April 2022
Swimming Australia Logo Web

Swimming Australia is proud to announce the Australian Dolphins team to compete at the 2022 World Para Swimming Championships in June.

The World Para Swimming Championships team was named at the conclusion of the 2022 Australian Para Swimming Championships in Adelaide.

The squad of 21 includes 19 athletes returning from the Tokyo Paralympics campaign, including newly elected Dolphins Para Athlete Leaders Rowan Crothers, Lakeisha Patterson and Katja Dedekind.

Tokyo Gold medalists Will Martin, Benjamin Hance, Matt Levy and Rachael Watson are also set to compete, while 16-year-old West Australian Alex Saffy will make his Dolphins debut as the sole rookie on the team.

Swimming Australia CEO, Eugénie Buckley, congratulated the team on their selection.

“Our Tokyo Paralympic campaign set an excellent standard and I have no doubt this team will again represent us strongly as we reset for the first international benchmark event of this new cycle,” Buckley said.

“We’ve witnessed first hand the strength and depth of our pathway this week and this squad possesses a fantastic mix of seasoned veterans and our next generation of para swimming stars.”

“Any opportunity to represent our country on the world stage should be cherished and I know this team will perform in a way that continues the proud legacy of the Australian Dolphins.”

The Dolphins team will be led by Head Coach Brenden Burkett and supported by Performance Coach Greg Towle and Team Coaches Nathan Doyle, David Proud, Kate Sparkes and Martin Roberts.

The 2022 World Para Swimming Championships will run from June 12-18 in Madeira, Portugal.

2022 World Para Swimming Championships Australian Dolphins team

Emily Beecroft (USC Spartans)
Rowan Crothers (Yeronga Park)
Katja Dedekind (Yeronga Park)
Tom Gallagher (USC Spartans)
Jasmine Greenwood (Bay & Basin)
Brenden Hall (Belgravia)
Benjamin Hance (USC Spartans)
Timothy Hodge (Blacktown)
Jack Ireland (University of Queensland)
Paige Leonhardt (Belgravia)
Matthew Levy (North Sydney)
William Martin (Nudgee College)
Madeleine McTernan (All Saints)
Jake Michel (Carina Leagues)
Grant Patterson (Central Cairns)
Lakeisha Patterson (Belgravia)
Col Pearse (Nunawading)
Alex Saffy (Bunbury)
Keira Stephens (USC Spartans)
Ruby Storm (USC Spartans)
Rachael Watson (Chandler)

Brendan Burkett – Head Coach
Greg Towle – Performance Coach
Nathan Doyle – USC Spartans
David Proud – Nudgee College
Kate Sparkes – Yeronga Park
Martin Roberts – Australian Institute of Sport

Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top