

# Swimming WA Inc. 2023 Annual General Meeting

In accordance with Rule 39 of the Association's Constitution, the **2023 Annual General Meeting** of Swimming WA Inc. was held at:

Venue: Subiaco Football Club - Function Room

246 Vincent St, Leederville WA 6007

**Upstairs Function Room** 

Date & Time: Saturday 7<sup>th</sup> October 2023 1.00pm

# Minutes of Meeting

### 1. ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OPENING

The President of the Swimming WA Inc. (SWA), Mr. Darren Michael, welcome all to the 2023 Annual General Meeting (AGM) and declared the meeting open at 1pm. He thanked those in attendance for their support of SWA. Acknowledgement of Country.

#### 2. ACCREDITATION OF DELEGATES

Mr. D Michael confirmed that Delegate eligibility for voting was circulated to all Clubs on 25<sup>th</sup> August 2023 in accordance with the SWA Constitution. He advised that in accordance with the SWA Constitution, the meeting was declared to have a quorum with 24 eligible Delegates and Directors present, along with observers, visitors and stakeholders.

Eligible Delegates	
Albany	Kaye Bolger
Aqua Attack	Michael O'Leary
Australind	Kate Pfoeffer
Bunbury	Andrew Ellis
Busselton	George Gee
Central Aquatic	Amanda Morris
City of Perth	Ingrid laschi
Curtin University Vic Park	Stephen Ball
Guildford & Kalamunda Districts	Trevor Verran













Harvey	Janine Rae
Highlanders	Lennard Bremer
Karratha	Briana Crisp
Kwinana	Dan Hilario
Mandurah	Graham Shackles
Mt Barker	Jeffrey Osborne
Newman Churchlands	Michelle Afflick
North Coast	Sarah Foster
Peel Aquatic	Robert bell
Riverton Aquanauts	Deb Doody
Rockingham	Kate Cullinane
Scarborough Beach	Krystine Hiscock
South Lake Dolphins	Natalie Lewis
Superfins WA	Steven Munk
UWA West Coast	Peter Foley
SWA Board Directors	
President	Darren Michael
Elected Director	Kerry O'Sullivan
Appointed Director	David Kent
SWA Life Members	
Life Members	Tony Ball
Life Members	Kaye Bolger
Life Members	Dot Harris
Life Members	Josh Hofer AM
SWA Staff Members	
Chief Executive Officer	Sophie Row











GM Organisational Sustainability	Andrew Stanbury
GM Participation & Member Services	Kirsty Read
Development Coordinator	Jessica Hall
Participation & Membership Officer	Narelle Keys
Observers and Visitors	
Sonia Riches	Harvey
Kylie Baker	SSSC
Trish Verran	G&KD
Caroline McIvor	South Lake Dolphins
Clare McLeary	Corrigin
Jim Bolger	Albany
Kirra Russell	Kwinana
David Anderson	Riverside
Steve Hill	UWA Westcoast
Ross Rogers	CAQ
Julie Apps	UWA Westcoast
Kelly Davies	AKSC
Veronica Smit	AKSC
Kelly Osborne	Mt Barker
Jennifer Popham	SBSC
Helen Harding	SSPW
Lucky Weerakkody	Kwinana

3.	APOLOGIES	
	Mr. D Michael informed the meeting of the apologies received by SWA and noted them as follows:	
	Breakers WA	Andrew Weston











#### 4. ADOPTION OF THE MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS SWA AGM HELD ON 8th OCTOBER 2022

Mr. D Michael informed the meeting that the Minutes of the 2022 SWA AGM were distributed last year in accordance with the SWA Constitution. Mr. Michael asked whether there were any questions or matters arising from the Minutes.

There being no amendments, Mr. D Michael called for a mover and a seconder that the Minutes of the SWA 2022 AGM be accepted as a true and correct record.

**Moved**: Ms. D Doody (Riverton) **Seconded**: Ms J Rae (Harvey)

Mr. D Michael requested a show of hands from eligible Delegates for the acceptance of the

Minutes of the 2022 SWA AGM.

Carried: Unanimously

# 5. NOTICE OF MOTION – APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR, NEXIA AUSTRALIA

Moved: Mrs. Kaye Bolger (Albany)
Seconded: Ms I laschi (City of Perth)

Mr. Michael requested a show of hands from eligible Delegates for approval of the Motion.

Carried: Unanimously

### 6. PRESENTATION OF THE SWA ANNUAL REPORTS FOR 2022-2023

#### 6.1 SWA PRESIDENT

Mr. D Michael provided a verbal summary of the President's Report.

Mr. D Michael thanked the Lakelands Board, including Steven Hughes and Peter Galvin, for their service.

# 6.2 SWA CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Ms. S Row provided a verbal summary of the CEO's Report.

#### 6.3 FINANCE AND GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE REPORT

Mr. A Stanbury (SWA GM-Organisational Sustainability) presented the Financial Report.

Mr. D Michael put forward the Auditor's Report for acceptance.

Proposed: Ms. K Cullinane (Rockingham)

Seconded: Mr. D Hilario (Kwinana)

Mr. D Michael requested a show of hands from eligible Delegates for the acceptance of the Auditor's

Report.

Carried: Unanimously











#### 7. CONFIRMATION OF ELECTED DIRECTOR

Mr. D Michael addressed the meeting, stating that there were four (4) nominations received for the one (1) vacancy of Elected Director. He informed the meeting of the result of online voting for the vacancy, carried out prior to the meeting.

## ONE (1) ELECTED DIRECTOR - 2 YEAR TERM

Mr. William Rollo

Mr. D Michael welcomed Mr. W Rollo to the Swimming WA Board.

### **OUTGOING BOARD MEMBER**

Mr. D Michael thanked Mr. David Bond for his contribution to swimming and time served as Vice-President of the Board, and Chair of the Finance, Governance and Risk Committee.

#### 8. NOTICE OF MOTION – APPOINTMENT OF LIFE MEMBERS

Mr. D Michael informed the Membership that the purpose of awarding SWA Life Membership was to acknowledge the dedicated and selfless contribution of persons who have provided extensive years of voluntary service to SWA.

For 2023, Swimming WA received four (4) nominations for SWA Life Membership for the SWA Honours and Awards Committee to consider. It was considered that two (2) nominees met the criteria.

Mr D Michael proceeded to ask for the ratification of Life Membership for Mrs G Rinehart AO and Mr Steve Hill.

Mr. D Michael requested a show of hands from eligible Delegates for the acceptance of the Life Memberships

Motion to accept Mrs. G Rinehart AO

Proposed: Mr. P Foley (UWA Westcoast)

Seconded: Ms. D Doody (Riverton)

Carried: Unanimously

Motion to accept Mr S Hill

**Proposed:** Mr T Verran (Guildford & Kalamunda Districts)

**Seconded:** Mr G Shackles (Mandurah)

Carried: Unanimously











9.	GENERAL BUSINESS: None		
10	MEETING CLOSE		
	Mr. D Michael thanked the SWA Board, management and staff for their dedication and hard work over the 2022-23 year. Mr. D Michael then thanked those in attendance and, there being no further business, closed the meeting at 1.33pm.		
	Signed as a true and accurate record of the meeting of 7 October 2023.		
	Mr. D. Michael		
	Chairperson		
	Dated:		

































