Westpac Swimmer of the Year Awards

View the 2020 Swimmer of the Year Award Criteria:


Recap on last years Swimmer of the Year is below. 

On Saturday night the 18th of May 2019, Swimming WA held their Night of Nights, the Westpac Swimmer of the Year Awards, at the Hyatt Regency Perth.  Saturday was a night of celebration and a chance to recognise excellence in all aspects of Western Australian swimming.

Holly Barratt from Rockingham Swimming Club was named 2019 Westpac Swimmer of the Year, taking home the coveted Lyn McClements medal at Swimming WA’s Annual Awards, that was held Saturday night at Hyatt Regency Perth.

The Award, named after one of Western Australia’s greatest swimmers Lyn McClements, was awarded to the 31-year-old Warnbro swimmer who is coached by WAIS coach Will Scott.  Holly returned from the World Short Course Championships where she achieved Silver in the 50m Butterfly, Bronze in the 50m Backstroke, and Bronze in the 4 x 50m Freestyle Relay.  

Barratt was up against some stiff competition from her fellow Dolphin teammates, namely Nicholas Brown (UWA West Coast, coach Bud McAllister), Brianna Throssell (UWA West Coast, coach Michael Palfery) and Ben Roberts (Breakers, coach Bud McAllister)

Other major Award winners for the evening were:

  • Open Water Swimmer of the Year – Rhys Mainstone (UWA West Coast Swimming Club);
  • Multi-Class Swimmer of the Year – Ben Popham (Arena Swimming Club);
  • Coach of the Year – Bud McAllister (WAIS);
  • Technical Official of the Year – Jacqui McNamara (York Swimming Club); 
  • Volunteer of the Year – Ron Barnes (Breakers Swimming Club).

Also during the evening was the induction of Ms Dianne Saunders as the 59th Member of the Swimming WA Hall of Fame.   34-year-old Saunders is a 2004 Paralympian (Athens) competing in the SB7 100m Breaststroke, finishing 4th. Saunder’s highest world ranking was 2nd. Since retiring from competitive swimming, Saunders has remained an active Member of the Superfins Swimming Club and competes at a Masters State and National level.

The Swimming WA Hall of Legends recognises gold medal swimming performances at an international level.  The 3rd inductee to earn this status is Kingsley Bugarin who competed at five Paralympic Games and won five Paralympic Gold medals throughout his career. Kingsley still holds the World Record for the S12 200m Breaststroke, 23 years after having achieved it.   

Swimming WA President Louis Van Aardt said;

 “Each year the Westpac Swimmer of the Year Awards grow in popularity and status amongst all levels of swimming.  Congratulations to all winners.  The 2018/19 season was an outstanding success for WA swimmers, and we are immensely proud of what these swimmers have achieved.  Not to mention the coaches, support networks and Clubs that surround these individuals. 

I also would like to thank all of the 85 Clubs and more than 12,000 registered swimmers that are Members of Swimming WA and for their ongoing support.  We are grateful to Westpac for their support of this evening and throughout the year, as well as our presenting partner Hancock Prospecting. We are all looking forward to what the future holds for WA swimmers in the lead up to Tokyo 2020”.

Other winners throughout the night include;

The Old Court Cup Nathan Sason UWA West Coast
The Frank Osman Memorial Shield  Tom Gawned Albany
Jack Howson Trophy Crystal Edwards UWA West Coast
Nedlands Golf Club Cup Lauren Gastevich Arena
The Hall of Fame Alumni Trophy Brianna Throssell UWA West Coast
Junior Swimmer of the Year Brielle Krispyn Manjimup Marlins
Max Gerber Multi-Class Championships Trophy Lucinda Foley Breakers
The Bob Bestman Trophy Joshua Edwards-Smith UWA West Coast
Hancock Prospecting Perpetual Trophy Nicholas Brown UWA West Coast
Sir Frank Beaurepaire Trophy Ben Popham Arena
Swimming WA Patron's Trophy Holly Barratt Rockingham
The Ben Beale Memorial Award Owen Brown Breakers
The President's Award  Joshua Hofer OAM Perth City
Westpac Champion Club of the Year Award - Metropolitan  Guildford Kalamunda  
Westpac Champion Club of the Year Award - Regional Mandurah  
ASCTA WA Development Coach of the Year Award Jason Evans Bunbury
The Age Group Coach of the Year Michael Shaw UWA West Coast
The Swimmers Swimmer of the Year Ashton Brinkworth UWA West Coast
The Age Group Swimmer of the Year Joshua Edwards-Smith UWA West Coast
Technical Official of the Year Jacqui McNamara York
The Westpac Volunteer of the Year Ron Barnes Breakers
Hall of Fame induction Dianne Saunders  
Hall of Legends induction Kingsley Bugarin  
Multi Class Swimmer of the Year Ben Popham Arena
Open Water Swimmer of the Year Rhys Mainstone UWA West Coast
Coach of the Year Bud McAllister  WAIS
Lyn McClements Swimmer of the Year Medal Holly Barratt Rockingham

Photos of the winners on the night can be found at: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1UnlizkIPxTEu456b4IK5wkYjy5P2-V3r 

All other photos can be found at: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1bjUwgiV7BL3oZveZe3Bm5D2T421NBwLc 

Was this page helpful?yesno

Thanks for your feedback.

Go back to top